Because backspace block isn't getting implemented any time soon I'm going to suggest this instead.
Please implement an alert by the browser, when trying to leave an edited asset or knowledge base article. It should ask the user, if they actually wanted to discard the changes they did to a page.
This would prevent data loss while editing a page and saves time as well.